Main Navigation Links

Home About the North Texas Narrow Gauge Group Elk Canyon & Western Gallery Links

The North Texas Narrow Gauge Group

In the summer of 1998, Gary Rush from Lewisville, TX put out word via the Internet of his intention to gather a group of guys to build a portable layout in Sn3.  Gary connected with Keith Stamper, a Canadian modeler who had recently relocated to Denton with his job.  Shortly thereafter, Marc LaChey of Richardson made contact with Gary and Keith.  The nucleus of the NTNG was formed. 

It wasnít too long before other members joined the group.  Those were Randy Smith, Paul Cleveland, Tom Petrick and Clark Womack.  This group built the first Sn3 layout.  That layout was displayed at the Plano Train Show from 2002 to 2005. 

One of the strengths of the NTNG group is that unlike other modular groups in which the builder owns an individual module, the ECWRR is a group effort.  A fundamental premise of our work is that the member who has the best skill or talent for the job leads or does that job.  This allows us to build on our memberís strengths.  As an example, the backdrop painting and scenery are the work of founding member, Gary Rush.  While Gary might let someone else glue down the dirt, when the time comes, we stand back and let him paint. 

The NTNG does have formal bylaws (somewhere) but the group has no formal officers or titles. A few members have earned unofficial nicknames.  Decisions about our project come about through discussion, debate and a consensus (most times) among the group.  The common thread among our members is a strong interest in narrow gauge modeling. 

If you have interest in narrow gauge modeling whether it is HOn3, Sn3, On3, On30 or larger scales and would like to work with a group that enjoys the fellowship of like-minded model railroaders, just ask one of our members about becoming a part of our group. For more information about the North Texas Narrow Gauge group, contact Marc LaChey at or call (214) 507 7779.


Current NTXNG Membership
Gary Rush, Lewisville TX Tom Petrick, McKinney TX

Marc LaChey, Richardson TX

Paul Cleveland, Bedford TX
Tim Kerfoot, Fort Worth TX Kenny Collins, Melissa TX
Duane Richardson, MMR, Garland TX Danny Cryer, Garland TX
Charlie Kirk, MMR, Dallas TX Steele Craver, Arlington TX
Bob Lydecker, Dallas TX Joe Selinsky, Frisco, TX
Steve Amitrano, San Antonio TX Jack Walton, Westlake TX
Jay Miller, Dallas TX Keith Stamper, Newmarket Ontario
In Memoriam
Clark Womack, Howe TX


Main Navigation Links

Last modification 01/01/2004 10:56:39 by Duane Richardson, MMR
© 2013 design by Uncle Dude's Web Shop